Managing Social Media Accounts and Email After a Loved One has Passed

Social Media Accounts

If a loved one has passed you may be wondering what you can do with their active social media accounts and email. There are steps provided for deactivating accounts and on some platforms there is also an option of memorializing an account in which it becomes a tribute to your loved one, showing pictures and memories and allowing posts to be made from friends and family.

When you are in the process of managing these social media accounts and email it is required that you have the correct login information to gain access and make these changes. If you do not have this information you can contact these platforms and explain the situation. Typically, with proof of death such as a death certificate, they will shut down these accounts for you or give you the option to memorialize.

Here is a list of common social media platforms and instructions for deactivating or memorializing:

Closing a LinkedIn Account

  • Log into your loved one’s LinkedIn account
  • Put the cursor over the profile picture in the top right corner
  • Go down and click on “Privacy and Settings”
  • Re-enter the password if required and click “Account” on the left
  • Click “Close Account”
  • Confirm deletion of account

Closing a Twitter Account

  • Go to account settings & click on “Deactivate account” at the bottom of the page
  • Read over the deactivation information and click “okay”
  • Enter the password when prompted to verify the deactivation

Note: The deletion of the account can take up to 30 days as stated in the Privacy Policy. Also, content may still appear in Google and Bing after the deactivation which Twitter has no control over.

Closing a Facebook Account

  • Click the account menu at the top right
  • Select “Settings”
  • Click “Security” in the left column
  • Choose “Deactivate Account” – then follow the steps to confirm

Memorialize: You have to have proof of death for the account holder (Death Certificate) – and submit a request to Facebook.

Closing a Instagram Account

  • Go to the – Delete your Account page (Link brings you directly to this page)
  • You must log in to continue with the deletion of the account
  • Select an option from the drop-down menu for the reason of deletion
  • Re-enter your password
  • Click “Permanently Delete Account”

Social media has become an important and impactful part of our lives today. It allows us to keep in touch personally and professionally with friends and family. It is more than likely that your loved one was active on social media and if you are unsure you can conduct an online search to retrieve accounts.

If you have any other questions you can contact, Luke or Eric at Keyser Funeral Home, here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

We are honored to help you through this difficult time.logoYour loved one never leaves our care.